Skip to content
Tags

NoT™ (v1.0): Nodality Theory: An ontology for all ages

September 26, 2008

In this post I present the ontology that you have all been waiting for:  NoT™ (v1.0)

Nodality Theory: An ontology for all ages

v1.0

NoT™ posits a basic unit of study, known as the node.

Nodes may be considered as:

1. individual humans
2. appliances created by humans

Nodes connect to form networks. In networks, nodes communicate with other nodes.
From this arises further areas of study:

-Connectivity theories (e.g. connectivism)
-Communications theories (pattern recognition and symbolic representation)
-Network theories (social and machine)

  • So far, it looks a little something like this:

 

_________________________

I can see numerous questions arising from the schema presented so far. I will deal with some of them here:

Q. Can a nerd be a node?

A. Of course.

Q. Is a book a node?

A. Nerds will often use e-book format.

Q. Is a non-e-book book (NEBB) a node?

A. Yes, a NEBB is a node.

Q. Well, how does a node connect with a NEBB?

A. Human nodes connect via the sensory. You read it. Appliances connect often via scanners.

Q. Is a NEBB an appliance then?

A. Yes, an early form.

Q. Do appliances connect with each other? How?

A. Absolutely. With or without wires.

Q. Well then, how do NEBBS connect with other NEBBS?

A. Through human nodes, same as now.

Q.  Makes no sense to me.

A. You should become a connectivist then, then you would have no worries. Connectivists don’t believe in making meaning. (In connectivism, a phrase like ‘constructing meaning’ makes no sense-10th post down that thread).

Q. How will I understand this, then?

A. Through Connecti-Vision™. 

Q. How does Connecti-Vision™ work?

 

A.  Simply put, this is a process within  NoT™, with an accompanying slogan for easy recall.

    

 “Connect and you may see”   (CAYMS™)

 

Q. Where does this slogan originate?

 

A. It has roots dating back to the phrase veni, vidi, vici.  I came (CAYMS™), I saw (CONNECTI-VISION™), I conquered (NoT™) 

Q. How does NoT™ relate to ‘I conquered’? 

A. An understanding of NoT™ will prepare one for all of lifes’ eventualities. 

Q. Tell me more about the principles of NoT™.

_________________________

 

 _________________________

A. Ok above we have diagrams of parabolas (DIAG 1), courtesy:

http://www.sciencebuddies.org/science-fair-projects/project_ideas/CompSci_p010.shtml

Q. I notice some similarities between the parabolas and your mindmap above.

A. Yes, both are used here for illustration only. Try to think of the vertex in DIAG1 as equivalent to the node in the mindmap.  And the network as being the equivalent of the focus. The analogy I am trying to draw is that, viewed in this light, the node can be seen to focus on the network, bathing it in light. Plus these are patterns as well.

Q. Hmmm.  I ‘connect’ with your vision. But I am not sure of the utility of this analogy.

A. No problem. I believe it demonstrates a fundamental proposition of the connectivism connection theory (CCT™), the need to focus on networks.

Q. Oh. And the significance of that is?

A. Well, who/what is focusing on networks but nodes? And the fact that connectivism proposes that knowledge can be gained through this focus, is strange in itself, in that another proposition of connectivism is that knowledge is non-propositional.

Q. I see your point. But is this all about connectivism-bashing?

A. Oh no, of course not. Just using it for illustration purposes to take the next step. And the next step of course is to use what we have termed the reverse parabolic manouever (RPM™). We reverse positions in DIAG1, and now see that the vertex is the network, and the focus is the node. The mindmap then morphs into the following:

 

Q. Nice. your RPM™ manoever is very slick. But why is the Nodes box smaller than the Networks box?

A. Its really that way to appease the connectivists. Their lack of Connecti-Vision™ forces them to focus on the network, and the largeness of the Pipe. Size Matters much to them. So a large network box will give them comfort and keep them happy. Fortunately NoT™ does not suffer from Pipe Envy.

Q. Have you used the RPM™ method much in your theory?

A. We anticipate that RPM™s will increase going forward.

__________________________

Q. Well thanks for your time and explanation, that will be all for today’s lesson. Any summarizing thoughts you would like to share with us?

A. Yes.  NoT™ can be viewed as functioning in the parabolic pattern:  The interaction of humans and applicances through networks places the focus on the nodes. Nodes are where its at. NF™ (node focusing) is both the first principle of NoT™ and the pattern located through the application of Connecti-Vision™. A caution however:   some theorists feel that

NoT™/Connecti-Vision™ = NF™         is the same equation as

0/0 = indeterminate.

This has yet to be determined.

See also:

 https://kenkat.wordpress.com/2008/09/25/diss-connectivism/#more-263

From → Uncategorized

5 Comments
  1. pingadohtor permalink

    Thank-you for my chuckle of the day.

  2. deadvocate permalink

    I had a lot fun making this post! Spent far more time than I wanted to, dreaming it all up, but, what the hell. If I can make myself and others laugh, it’s worth it!

  3. mmvcentro permalink

    Hi Ken!
    Well… I am more confused now which is not surprising. 🙂
    So, if I don’t have yet enough elements to join in the conversation and I am striving through readings, blogs and forums in a language that is elevated for me… Am I still interacting with the network?
    I hope you are laughing.
    See you around!
    Love: Maru

  4. deadvocate permalink

    Hi Maru. I was thinking about your post today, and I thought I would share that while I am a native english-speaker, many of the words used in the course are foreign to me, and I must continually try to make sense of them to stay on top of the discussions.
    While doing this, I believe that I am interacting with the network, same as you are.

    Keep smiling!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Skate of the web » Blog Archive » The so-called Nodality Theory revealed: NoT v1.0

Leave a Reply

